Band of the Week: Miseria Visage

Miseria Visage

Mosh on the Radio’s band for this week is Leeds based, one man Avant-Garde metal band, Miseria Visage. Theta, the writer, musician and producer of Miseria Visage has answered our questions.

How long have you been playing together?
Theta: Miseria Visage has existed as a project since October 2012, however I’ve been involved in writing and recording music and pursuing roles in various bands since I was in my mid-teens. I started my first extreme metal inclined band with a functioning line up, while studying at college.

What makes you different than the millions of other bands across the globe hoping to make it?
Theta: Well, a lot of what I compose is about intertwining the harsh, aggressive or grotesque sounds with the more elegant and melodic ones, so a mixture of light and dark, a Doctor Jekyll and Mr. Hyde approach almost. If Miseria Visage ever does ‘make it’ in any sense of the phrase, it will probably be by accident or in a very different form to the traditional success models, in addition to writing albums, composing for computer games is something I would like to pursue.

What is your local metal scene like?
Theta: Leeds, where I’m currently based, has taken a hit when it comes to the grass-roots level local scene. A couple of years ago a lot of the smaller venues and the promoters I got to be familiar with, shut down. I see a bunch of bands playing various shades of indie rock, some metalcore and hardcore, fairly run-of-the-mill thrash out there. I’m sure more experimental stuff exists on the fringes. One thing is for certain, hardly anyone breaks even when it comes to putting on gigs, that’s nothing new in this day and age but it still saddens me.

Do your lyrics have any concepts or themes within them?
Theta: A sense of being disconnected from, and rejecting the status quo, so I suppose a misanthropic outlook, being consumed by living inside your own head – that’s where a lot of the imagery comes from.

What was the last album you bought?
Theta: Sigh – In Somniphobia. In case you have not heard of Sigh, they are a Japanese progressive black metal band with a ton of bizarre and wonderful influences. They have a knack of pulling off strange combinations of styles, such as mixing black metal, psychedelic rock and power metal (no, really), the saxophone parts are an interesting touch and the lead guitar work is epic to say the least, worth checking out!

Is there an album that inspired you to join a band?
Theta: Something by Iron Maiden or Black Sabbath most likely. I got into metal with the classic stuff first before I discovered the underground scene and the myriad of sub-genres in my late teens.

If you could trade places with another musician for a day, who would it be and why?
Theta: Someone I could learn from, who has found their creative niche and made it work for them. Ishahn, Devin Townsend or Die from Dir En Grey are all strong contenders.

Do you have any new material coming out?
Theta: Yes! I’m currently working on a follow-up to Vanish Into Dark. I’m at that second stage of composing the new release, getting rough recordings of my ideas down. It will be as much a progressive rock record as it will be extreme metal, some black metal elements and keyboards will still be in there, but it will be much more guitar-driven than my debut. I’m also planning on adding some clean vocals and being more diverse with my palette of guitar sounds – I’m addicted to effects pedals! I would say it will arrive by early autumn but I think it could quite possibly take longer.

Why should people check out your band?
Theta: Because how often do you come across Avant-Garde, Neo-Classical, Psychedelic Blackened Thrash Metal, that’s also from UK.

Any last words for our listeners?
Theta: Look forward to the next release and help us put the UK back on the map when it comes to experimental metal! Also, hails and thanks to everyone at Mosh!

Miseria Visage

Official Website: http://www.miseriavisage.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MiseriaVisage
tumblr: http://miseriavisage.tumblr.com/
Bandcamp: http://miseriavisage.bandcamp.com/

About moshontheradio

Mosh on the Radio: the 2 hour metal 'mix tape' streamed to you every Tuesday night. More brutal than a bag of honey badgers, more underground than a Womble. Now with subtitles! http://www.aberdeenstudentradio.com/
This entry was posted in Band of the Week, Interview and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

